Bobby Hanig for NC Senate

Northeastern North Carolina Voters Place Their Trust in Bobby Hanig For State Senate

Currituck, N.C. – Bobby Hanig won his election to the State Senate in District 3 yesterday with a six-point advantage over his opponent.  Hanig is a small business owner who served two terms in the State House until his August appointment to fill an open seat in Senate District 1.(Learn More)


Representative Bobby Hanig was sworn as a member of the State Senate in August to fill out the vacancy in Senate District 1 until 2023.  Senator Hanig’s swearing in ceremony took place before a small audience at 1 pm today at the Currituck County Courthouse. 

Hanig said, “I’m honored to earn this appointment to the Senate, and I look forward to serving the citizens of District 1.  While the Senate district is larger than my State House district, I will continue to advocate for Northeastern North Carolina commonsense conservative values.”

Senator Hanig is a Republican small business owner serving his second term in the State House.  Hanig has fought for tax cuts, advocated for students and families, and is focused on fighting inflation. 

During his time in the legislature, Hanig has championed conservative reforms including tax cuts for North Carolina families, hurricane assistance, pay raises for teachers, voter ID and election integrity. Hanig is also an avid defender of the Second Amendment and the sanctity of life.   On August 18,  he was sworn in was sworn as a member of the State Senate today to fill out the vacancy in Senate District 1 until 2023.

After serving in the United States Army, Hanig settled in Currituck County, where he has lived for over 25 years. Hanig is a self-made small business owner who founded two companies. He grew a one-man operation into a business serving 400 properties on the Outer Banks. Prior to his service in the General Assembly, Hanig was the Chairman of the Currituck County Commission.

Senate District 1 includes Camden, Chowan, Currituck, Dare, Gates, Hertford, Hyde, Pasquotank, Perquimans, Tyrrell, and Washington Counties.

A note from Senator Hanig today. (Click Here)